ReCleanse – Day 2 (Flavour Fail)

Diary

This morning, to my surprise, I did not feel full! Not like the day before, even though I had eaten so much volume in food! Though my weight went up by a pound, but I’m not doing this for weightloss. If I gain weight, I gain weight. It’s a 7-day cleanse experiment. Focus on health, not food!

I made myself get up a little earlier this morning so that I could be better prepared for the day. This made me feel better about tackling today!

I drank my glass of water with the juice from half a lemon and took the 2 Colon Cleansing capsules at about 8:20 today. Ahead of schedule from yesterday. The lemon water is such a good way to start the morning. I am LOVING the lemon water.

At about 9:15, I began to drink the smoothie I had made at home. This time, I changed up the recipe (see below). It was SO MUCH BETTER. I actually enjoyed my smoothie today and finished it before noon. 2 hours earlier than yesterday. Yes! Feeling successful. I also finished my cup of water with the 2 Multi-Systems Cleansing capsules and my three mandarin oranges before noon. Success feels good.

Between 12:00 and 1:00, I forced myself to drink two more cups of water. I’m still over-measuring my water, but I do like the fact that it gives me less to drink at the end of the day, so as long as I’m drinking as frequently as I’m supposed to, I’m not going to worry too much about the size of the drinks, so long as I’m finishing my 2L of water per day.

At 1:30, I began prepping “lunch.” It takes a while to wash and cut everything and assemble, so I probably didn’t start eating until almost 2:00. The first half went down very nicely. I actually had been looking forward to this meal. However, I was starting to get full (as per usual) and didn’t get around to eating the second half until after work.

After work was a little different today. On Tuesdays, we meet in the Office and have snacks and a get together. It’s basically a focus time for us to socialize and calm our end-of-the-day starvation. The only thing is… I had to take my food with me because I am doing this cleanse and can’t eat what they have. This was a test of commitment…

sayno

In the room, they had raspberries, strawberries, mandarin oranges, corn chips, salsa, turkish delights, Veggie Straws, cookies and juice. That stuff looked a lot more appealing than the veggies and tempeh sitting on my plate. However, I stuck true to the plan. The only thing that was my saving grace was the fact that they had unsweetened apple juice. I’m allowed one cup of unsweetened fruit and vegetable juice a day, so this was a win! However, despite not having any cravings usually, those cookies were starting to look good… Somehow, I managed to finish my food before leaving that social. Still ahead of yesterday’s times!

When I finally left work, I gulped down my next glass of water and 2 Colon Cleansing capsules. This allowed me to drive straight to the restaurant I was going to and make an attempt to finish my meals earlier today than yesterday.

I went to a restaurant called The Chopped Leaf. They have a “build your own bowl” option as well, so I used that to create an approved bowl. (See what I ordered below). However, I was sadly disappointed when I left because I had assumed rice came with the bowl since their chef-made bowls came with rice. Mine did not. So I had to replace the rice with what I had which was extra dates. I also was smart today and brought and extra block of tofu with me to get in all the protein I’m supposed to get in a meal. The other mistake they made was that I was 100% sure I had ordered avocado for fats, but they did not put that on there either. Mind you, I haven’t had this kind of experience at Chopped before. Normally they are spot on. So it could have been the fact that a man had come over and outright stole their whole tip jar… that was interesting.

really?

Earlier in the day, I had taken some time today to look through the suggested recipes on the website for ReCleanse. As I was browsing through the list, I noticed that they use tamari, agave nectar, liquid aminos, and miso. I didn’t think I could use this stuff! So as an added bonus (and a way to make up fats), I had gotten a chipotle lime oil as a dressing. Guys… YUCK! I had such a hard time choking down this meal. I failed. I probably ate half or less than half. The oranges were sour, the dressing was TERRIBLE, and uncooked, raw, medium firm tofu is not great. I suffered. I did not finish this meal, even though I had full intentions of doing so.

ew

What ended up happening (to give you guys a true picture) is that I ate as much as I could stomach (flavour-wise), then put it away to finish later (in the mean time drank my glass of water and took 2 Multi-Systems Cleansing capsules). When I finally got home, I meant to bring the food inside to finish. However, I forgot the container, and while sitting on my bed thinking about going back outside, I fell asleep. I honestly probably got half of that full meal in. But to be honest, (and no, this is not a joke), every time I thought about eating more of that salad, I cringed. The thought of it made me sick. The awful taste of plain, raw tofu, the lack of flavour and oily-ness of the dressing, the sourness of the oranges, it was bad. Today I chose to cut my losses.

Tomorrow, oh joyous tomorrow, I need to make changes again. No more raw tofu. I’m going to lightly cook it to make it firmer and see what happens. I’m also heading to a local smoothie shop that I recently became an ambassador for to help raise $50,000 by selling 20,000 smoothies by the end of July. I need to do a bit of media promo for them (follow me on HealthyStewardship on Instagram for more details). This means I will need to modify my evening meal anyways because all of my carbs will be in that smoothie cup… Let’s see what I come up with!

Today’s meals and check-ins:

8:20 – 1 glass water with juice from 1/2 lemon, 2 Colon Cleansing capsules (~9 calories)

9:15 – 1 glass water, 2 Multi-Systems Cleansing capsules, Smoothie (1 cup spinach, 2 cups berries, 1/2 cup banana, 4 medjool dates, 532 mL or 18 oz. soy milk, 15 raw cashews), 3 mini mandarin oranges (~884 calories)

12:00 – 1 glass water

12:50 – 1 glass water

2:00 – 1 glass water, Sandwich (2 slices whole grain bread, 383 g or 13.5 oz tempeh, 1 avocado, 1 cup cucumber, 1 cup lettuce, 3/4 cup tomatoes, 2 tbsp. Frank’s Red Hot Sauce), 1 carrot (~894 calories)

4:15 – 250 mL SunRype Unsweetened Apple Juice (~120 calories)

5:45 – 1 glass water, 2 Colon Cleansing capsules

6:00 – 1 glass water, 2 Multi-Systems Cleansing capsules, BYO Chopped Bowl (175 g tofu, 1/4 cup chipotle lime oil dressing, 1/4 cup green apple, 1 cup mixed greens, 1/4 cup orange pieces, 1/4 cup cucumber), “Dessert” (3 Medjool dates) (~512 calories)

Total Calories: ~2419 calories

How I Feel

FULL! Still feeling full of water all the time. Still difficult to finish meals, but getting better. Meals tasting better but still plain. Force feeding. No cravings (except cookies sitting in front of me, but beat that craving!). Social event success. 🙂

Leave a comment